#33 My Apartment

Hey everyone! I hope you’re all doing well! I’m feeling extra good this week because I’m about to go on vacation! You’ll hear more about it next week 🙂

This week I wanted to show you something that I’ve talked about before but never gotten around to actually showing you: my apartment! I think most people’s image of Japan is one of giant buildings but small apartments, and my place fits that perfectly. I live in a shoebox of an apartment in a 10 story building. Here’s the view from my doorway.

IMG_5816

From here you can essentially see my whole apartment. Directly in front of you is the kitchen area and beyond the sliding doors is my living area. Off camera to my left is my shower room. Don’t mind the revolutionary war era pistol above the door.

IMG_5822

This is from the other direction. I have a desk and chair, along with a little rug, TV stand, and a tiny foldable couch. There’s one thing I haven’t mentioned yet though. See if you can spot my bed in the next picture.

IMG_5821

Did you find it? This picture was taken just inside the sliding doors from the first picture. My bed is folded up in the corner past the TV and behind the mirror. This room is swallowed by my full size bed. “Full size” as in, bigger than a twin but smaller than a queen.

I keep all my bedding in my closet and only take it out in the evening. You can see two of my dressers inside the closet along with my clothes hamper in the bottom right. I’m not sure how common it is to store bedding this way but I couldn’t handle a bed that I only use a third of the day taking up such a huge part of my limited living space.

I’ve been living here for a year and a half now and I’ve really grown attached to this apartment. It’s a bit small but it suits me quite well, especially since it’s so close to my work and the main areas of Nagasaki city. There are plenty of things to do and great places to eat easily within walking distance.

Here are the extra pictures I couldn’t fit in my email!

One thought on “#33 My Apartment

Leave a Reply

